Search the web
Sign In
New User? Sign Up
linkedinlions · The LinkedIn Lions on YahooGroups
? Already a member? Sign in to Yahoo!

Yahoo! Groups Tips

Did you know...
Message search is now enhanced, find messages faster. Take it for a spin.

Best of Y! Groups

   Check them out and nominate your group.
Having problems with message search? Fill out this form to ensure your group is one of the first to be migrated to the new message search system.

Messages

  Messages Help
Advanced
Have you received any invitation today?...   Message List  
Reply | Forward Message #10822 of 10911 |
Re: Have you received any invitation today?...

Well, there must be someone behind those profiles... one or more person
controlling them. But the profiles are all fake... and invitations are sent
automatically. Always came in bunch of two (maybe because of a little bug in the
application sending them?) Always relatively generic names... no information in
the profile whatsoever... no group affiliation... no public profile (as I've
already said) no nothing.

Incidentally, as soon as I marked those as spam, tadaaa! I've stopped receiving
them... And I was wondering... about those domains I was pointing out like
cybergal.com, programmer.net, physicist.net and technologist.com they all belong
to World Media Group, LLC... Maybe we should ask him:
http://www.linkedin.com/in/gmillin ?

--- In linkedinlions@yahoogroups.com, "John L Evans" <locris00@...> wrote:
>
>
> Hi Vlad,
>
> Great work - maybe. Are you absolutely sure there is no one behind
> these profiles?
>
> They are reminiscient of the NU tricksters.
>
> If you are confident they are not real you should tell LinkedIn - if
> they concur they will be removed.
>
> I would hapily remove them from my contacts and the LIONs if it can be
> shown they're unreal.
>
> Cheers John
>
>
> --- In linkedinlions@yahoogroups.com, "pv7721" <pv7721@> wrote:
> >
> > from any of these profiles:
> >
> > Bill Gunn 2850+++ LION, bill.gunn.1995@
> > LION. I accept All Invitations. bill.gunn.1995@
> > Redding, California Area Computer Software
> >
> > Laura K. {kendrik_laura2002@}
> > Self
> > Houston, Texas Area Computer Software
> >
> > Mary 1900+ [LION] Givens. mary.givens@
> > Assistant
> > Washington D.C. Metro Area Chemicals
> >
> > Mark Cabrera (mark_cabrera_2002@)
> > LION, Open Networker, MyLink500, TopLinked.
> > Jacksonville, Florida Area Accounting
> >
> > David Smith LION (smith.david1995@)
> > Account Exec
> > Greater New York City Area Staffing and Recruiting
> >
> > Well, I for one I did, and each time two identical invitations came at
> once. I won't accept them and I urge you to do the same (or drop the
> connexion if you've already had accepted them) (incidentally, each
> profile had already more than 500 direct connexions). My issues with
> these is that there was no other information besides what I've posted
> here, no public profile (obviously want to stay under the radar of
> public search engines) and for the two email domains other than Yahoo
> and Hotmail: cybergal.com and physicist.net they're just a couple of
> landing pages full of spammy link. I don't know why all of the sudden
> this new campaign of harvesting LinkedIn contacts (I wonder what these
> spammers do with them) but unfortunately it's not the first one and
> won't be the last one either. So, again, beware!
> >
> > Hope this helps!
> >
> > Vlad
> > http://www.linkedin.com/in/vladimirpacuraru
> >
>





Sat Jul 11, 2009 12:30 pm

pv7721
Offline Offline
Send Email Send Email

Forward
Message #10822 of 10911 |
Expand Messages Author Sort by Date

from any of these profiles: Bill Gunn 2850+++ LION, bill.gunn.1995@... LION. I accept All Invitations. bill.gunn.1995@... Redding, California...
pv7721
Offline Send Email
Jul 9, 2009
7:33 pm

Hi Vlad, Yes, and I a got these too, that I also dropped: - Terry Black - terrry.black@... - Eileen E., LION eileeneichenlaub@... Regards, Jose F....
Jose Lozano
jflozano_us
Offline Send Email
Jul 9, 2009
8:22 pm

Hi Vlad, Great work - maybe. Are you absolutely sure there is no one behind these profiles? They are reminiscient of the NU tricksters. If you are confident...
John L Evans
locris00
Offline Send Email
Jul 10, 2009
5:57 pm

Well, there must be someone behind those profiles... one or more person controlling them. But the profiles are all fake... and invitations are sent...
pv7721
Offline Send Email
Jul 11, 2009
12:31 pm

Vlad - go for it - any support I can give I will, but if you're so confident then hit the button! They might be connected with NU or Toplinked? World Media...
John L Evans
locris00
Offline Send Email
Jul 13, 2009
12:11 am

NU I don't think so. Since the group has been banned from LinkedIn I never heard of them or from Victoria Blinster, the group creator. TopLinked I think it's...
pv7721
Offline Send Email
Jul 13, 2009
6:06 pm

Hey guys, what is an NU trickster? joe...
jjslevin
Offline Send Email
Jul 13, 2009
8:31 pm

Just in case. I exist. amitm@... From: linkedinlions@yahoogroups.com [mailto:linkedinlions@yahoogroups.com] On Behalf Of John L Evans Sent: Monday,...
Amit Mahajan
amitaeous
Offline Send Email
Jul 29, 2009
1:31 pm
Advanced

Copyright © 2009 Yahoo! Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Guidelines - Help